General Authorities

General Authorities are those individuals who God has put in place to govern the affairs of His kingdom here on Earth.  This is done by Revelation. (Matthew 16:17-19)

The true Church of Jesus Christ must have Prophets and Apostles.  Christ set up the Church this way when He was on the Earth, and He is the same yesterday, today, and forever. (Hebrews 13:8,Mormon 9:9)

Once upon a time the Children of Israel were met on the battle field by Amalek.  During the battle we see how the First Presidency of the Church works in unison.

"And it came to pass, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed: and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed.
But Moses’ hands were heavy; and they took a stone, and put it under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun."

So we see that Moses was the Prophet at the time, and he had two others by his side to help him.

This is the First Presidency of the Church of Jesus Christ of latter-day Saints.  Left to right, President Henry B. Eyring, President Thomas S. Monson, and President Dieter F. Uchtdorf.  President Monson is the Lord's Chosen Prophet on the Earth today.

The First Presidency presides over the entire Church, and is directly over the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.

The members of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles are, President Boyd K. Packer, Elder L. Tom Perry, Elder Russell M. Nelson, Elder Dallin H. Oaks, Elder M Russell Ballard, Elder Richard G. Scott, Elder Robert D. Hales, Elder Jeffery R. Holland, Elder David A. Bednar, Elder Quentin L. Cook, Elder D. Todd Christofferson, and Elder Neil L. Anderson.

The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles is the second-highest governing body in the Church (the First Presidency being the highest).  Apostles are special witnesses of Jesus Christ, called to teach and testify of Him throughout the world.  They travel frequently, addressing and encouraging large congregations of members and interested nonmembers, as well as meeting with local leaders.  When they are not traveling, members of the Quorum of the Twelve counsel together and with other general Church leaders on matters affecting the worldwide Church, such as missionary work, temple building, spiritual and temporal welfare, and much more.

There are also Seventies, who are assigned to manage things in specific areas around the world, and to help the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles.  The Presidency of the Seventy is over all other Seventies.  There are Seven Presidents, and no counselors, in the Presidency of the Seventy.

The Presiding Bishopric is the presidency of the Aaronic Priesthood throughout the Church. The Presiding Bishop and his two counselors also serve under the direction of the First Presidency to administer the temporal affairs of the Church.

You can view a picture of each of the General Authorities at: